You committed fraud or lied on your insurance application. Both you and your insurance company can decide not to renew the policy when it expires. In New York, an insurance company must give you 45 to 60 days' notice and explain the reason for the non-renewal before canceling your policy. For a more detailed explanation, call the insurance company.
If you feel that the reason for the non-renewal is unfair, you can file a complaint with the Department of Financial Services. Your company may have decided to eliminate a particular line of insurance or issue fewer policies where you live, so you shouldn't necessarily think that the non-renewal is due to something you did. On the other hand, if you did something that significantly increased the insurance company's risk, such as committing fraud, your policy may not be renewed. The insurer must provide the insured (a notice of cancellation) at least 10 days before the cancellation and (a statement specifying the reason for the cancellation) (CGS § 38A-34).
Under state law, if a motor vehicle insurance policy has been in effect for less than 60 days, the insurer can cancel the policy due to material misrepresentation by the insured. State law allows the insurer to cancel a policy that has been in effect for less than 60 days with at least 10 days' notice to the insured. In the case of a home or car policy, the insurer must provide information in the notice about how to apply for coverage through the Wisconsin Insurance Plan (property) or the Wisconsin Auto Insurance Plan (car). For example, your insurer may have decided to eliminate that particular type of insurance or issue fewer policies where you live.
Auto insurers request information from the insurance applicant about other drivers in the household during the underwriting process. You asked if (an auto insurance company) has the right to demand information from the policyholder about other drivers in the household, (there is policy language about this), (there are ramifications for a policyholder to hide such information) and (the insurer will pay a claim if the driver was not a designated insured but lives in the home).